Disney’s Year of the Dragon

Happy Lunar New Year! Sean’s family is Thai-Chinese, so the holiday is always a big deal in our family. It’s still a bit strange to me that the zodiac animal changes at January 1st in Japan, so I decided not to post about the Year of the Dragon until Chinese New Year.

That being said, I love these Disney interpretations we found when we went to Tokyo Disney Sea a few weeks ago! I especially loved that they used Mushu from Mulan as the dragon. Very clever!

First up is a lovely papercraft from Paper Artist Takashi Ohta. It was a tiny little thing tucked away in a gift shop near the front. I almost missed it, but it ended up being one of my favorite sights of the day. So delicate and lovely.

♢♦♢♦♢

Next up was this lovely tin of cookies, always one of my favorite souvenirs.

♢♦♢♦♢

The flavors were quite traditional Japanese, as far as these things go. The green ones are of course green tea, and I was surprised that the black ones were actually black sesame. Yummy!

What do you think? Are you celebrating Chinese New Year? I miss being home for the big family dinner (and little red envelopes!) but I like seeing how Japan ushers in the Year of the Dragon. Very cool!

About superhappyawesome

Living in Japan!
This entry was posted in Japan, Modern Traditions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Disney’s Year of the Dragon

  1. japan-a-lana says:

    I’m not a Disney person. But, you really get in the spirit when you go there. I went to Disney Sea and got a tin of snacks. The tin is the only Disney thing I own, I’m sure. But it’s Japanese-y so it’s really cool.

Leave a Reply

