Lucky Bags!

One of the Japanese New Year’s traditions you may have heard of is Lucky Bags, or Fukubukuro (福袋). Basically around the start of the year, stores will take stock they want to get rid of, put it in bags, and sell it.

Of course, they can’t just call them “Bags of junk we can’t sell” so the retailers sweeten the deal a bit to get people interested. Usually the total retail value of the goods inside will be quite a lot more than the cost of the bag, and sometimes they’ll put something really fancy in randomly selected bags. You can get really great stuff for a really great deal this way, or you can spend a ton of money on a bag full of crap. The element of surprise is a big part of the fun!

Tons of different stores have them, and some are really expensive. A lot go for around 100 bucks, and the sign usually declares that the value of the goods inside is 3-5 times that. The  general understanding is that the over-all value will well exceed the asking price, though you might not get the particular items you were hoping for. The highest price tag I saw was ¥50,000 (roughly $5-600) at the electronics store, and I’ve even heard of high-end jewelry stores charging into the millions!

It may seem a bit strange to buy electronics you know nothing about, or a bag full of clothes that may or may not fit, but again, the element of surprise is a big part of the fun. Some stores will leave one open for peeking, or even list the goods that are guaranteed to be inside, and some clothing stores will put the size on the bag. Many, however, leave it completely to chance.

Lots of people line up for ages for them–it’s like a cross between Black Friday in the States and Boxing Day in Canada. We weren’t quite so dedicated, and just found a couple that caught our fancy in the new mall section of Takasaki Station.

A Lucky Bag at the chocolate shop!

I chose my bag from Mary’s, a chain of chocolate shops. You can see on the left there’s a little display of what’s included, very open of them. I didn’t even have to resort to peeking! This one was ¥1000 (~$12 US), so on the fairly inexpensive side as far as these things go. The average seems to be about ¥5,000-10,000 (~$60-120 US).

And here are the contents of my lucky bag! One large box of plain chocolate, one small box of fancy chocolates, and two tubes of specialty chocolates. Almond chocolates in one, crisp rice chocolates in the other. I was a bit bummed because I misinterpreted the display and thought the BIG box was the fancy chocolates, but for ¥1000 it’s still a good deal!

Sean chose the Wine bag at Kaldi, the International food shop. It cost ¥2500 to pick one out, and none of the bottles in the offering had a retail value of less than ¥2800, so you were sure to get a better value than what you paid for. There were even a few bottles that were well over ¥10,000 (over $100 US), so of course we were hoping for one of those. We weren’t that lucky, but our bottle was worth about ¥3000. Not too shabby!

One of our good friends even camped outside the Apple store for his lucky bag, which contained a nice pair of headphones, iHome, a laptop bag, an extra iPhone battery, and an 8 G iPod touch. Pretty good for ¥30,000! (A bit more than $300)

Our friend Grant picked up a lucky bag from Yodobashi Camera that set him back ¥10,000 and was guaranteed to have a camera worth at least that much, as well as a 4 gig memory card. He ended up with a camera worth more than twice that, an 8 gig card, and a handful of camera accessories to boot!

Do you have anything like this where you’re from? Would you buy a bag of random stuff if it might have something awesome in it? Moreover, would you pay good money if you had no idea what you were getting? What do you think?

About superhappyawesome

Living in Japan!
This entry was posted in Modern Traditions and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Lucky Bags!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Lucky Bags! | -- Topsy.com

  2. NTG says:

    On New Year’s morning, my husband and I headed over to Laforet Harajuku at 2 AM in order to wait in a short line in order to get a ticket to come back and wait in line AGAIN at 9 AM for fukubukuro! Although, I totally left him in bed and went myself for the actual shopping session, in which I wound up buying three bags of lolita brands for myself and two bags for my friend… one of the bags I bought for ¥10,000 had about ¥80,000 worth of clothes in it!!

    Lucky bags are my weakness. ; 3;

  3. Pingback: Weekend reading list for 7 January | Tokyo Bounce

  4. Dom says:

    I’ve always been tempted by this. I’ve seen them at jewelry stores with 5man+ price tags, but never had the balls to buy one. My friend Steve bought one for 10,000 with a 1 in 5 chance of getting a PSP. He ended up with a bag full of rubbish….

  5. Pingback: I should be so lucky…Kit Kats? |

  6. ReiZernan says:

    I’m definitely going to try this one when i get there this xmas, its really fun to get something more than what you paid for. If i get a bag of crap, well i can still give it away to my nephews and nieces XD

  7. Diinzumo says:

    I never tried my luck with the fukubukuro, but then again, I didn’t have wine or chocolate shops to choose from. I still regret it though.

  8. Oh my. I am crazy for fukubukuro. I lined up at 11:30pm to buy an Apple Store Lucky Bag at 8am. My friend lined up with me and HIS lucky bag had an iPad 2! Last year I bought one from Paul Smith for 20,000yen…inside were 4 pieces of clothing and a totebag, each priced at 30,000-50,000 individually! Can’t wait for next year =D

  9. J. Englishman says:

    Really? The Japanese term for a bag of surprise overstock you may or may not want is a “Fukubukuro” As in “Fuck You, Buckaroo”?

Leave a comment